si-Cluster Academic Member

The Department of Environmental Physics – Meteorology is part of the Division of Physics of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. It offers undergraduate courses in support of the acquisition of the Bachelors Degree in Physics, as well as graduate studies leading to Masters or Phd in various disciplines in the overall field of Environmental Physics. The research areas of the Department include Satellite Remote Sensing, Climate and Climate Variability, Dynamics of the Atmosphere, Models for Atmospheric Circulation, Synoptic Meteorology, Atmospheric Physics and Chemistry, Oceanography, Physics of the Built Environment and Energy Planning.

In terms of Satellite Remote Sensing, the Department is member of the consortia for Copernicus Relay and Copernicus Academy, it is equipped with specialized image processing software and is cooperating since 2005 with the European Space Agency within the DRAGON Program (cooperation between ESA and the National Remote Sensing Center of China). In particular for the period 2016-2020 it participates in the DRAGON Program through the research project «Earth Observation Based Urban Services for Smart Cities and Sustainable Urbanization», with area of application major urban centers in Europe and China.

Other research projects in the same research area refer to the management of natural environment, the study of the urban environment (air pollution, urban fluxes, thermal environment, land use), climate change and the support of adaptation plans, extreme weather events, etc. The Department offers a distance learning course in GIS with application to cartography and the environment.